The beta version is out

Vextor
Global Admin

The beta version is out

Post by Vextor »

I started playing the beta version in steam.
Due to a request from Rabbit & Bear to make sure nothing is spoiled to non-backers, I can't say much.

However, I have already spotted a few "easter eggs" that would only be recognizable by fans of Suikoden.
I am just grinning as I play this game (but I am only about an hour into it)
Vextor
Global Admin

Re: The beta version is out

Post by Vextor »

I have finished playing the beta version -- I think it only covers around 10%-15% if the total game?
Using Suikoden 2 as a comparison, I feel the beta version stops just around when you arrive at Muse for the first time.

Some things I have seen:
1) Characters can have up to 7 rune slots.
2) Freely recruitable characters in the beta version -- I think only 3, but they are all awesome. So far it seems they put a lot of focus on giving each character some... character. Suikoden 1 and 2 had a handful who had very little development, but so far in Eiyuden Chronicles each recruiting event was fairly well written.
3) I played the Japanese version so I cannot say much about the English version, but the voice acting is superb and they have some big names for sure.
4) Unfortunately you don't have small interactive objects in cities / towns such as what we saw in Suikoden 2 (where you can basically inspect any bookshelf, barrel, shelf, etc and get some text explaining what it is). I was hoping this would return, but nope. I guess I had my hopes up too much considering this was a feature only in Suikoden 2).
5) The beta version already had some premium backer reward objects included, such as portraits, cat / dog names, NPCs with names that sound like they belong to someone in the USA, etc. Some of these look sort of "out of place" but I guess this is the nature of kickstarter games.