Hard Mode Patch / Rom Hack

If you are stuck in the Dunan Unification Wars; or wish for more details on the gameplay systems, this is the place.
dune

Hard Mode Patch / Rom Hack

Post by dune »

Hello all,

As we all know Suikoden 2 is way too easy once you have figured out how to combine rubes like fury and double beat. While the challenges posted in the 'Suikoden 2 challenges' topic are fun, in my opinion that's not the way the game is meant to be played. Wouldn't is be awesome if the game was still hard to beat even when you have upgraded all weapons and attach a Fury Rune to Oulan?

Pyriel, who created the Suikoden 2 Patch, told me that changing enemies stats (too make them stronger, hence increasing the difficulty of the game) via hacking is time consuming because the stats for enemies are spread out over multiple files. I'm not sure if I understood him correctly, because I have no experience hacking whatsover.

My question is exactly how much time it would take to change enemy stats. I'm also wondering if other people would be interested in suh a patch and what everybody's thoughts about it are?

I was thinking that maybe it's possible to only edit bosses, in order to make at least tje boss fights harder. That would be significantly less time consuming then editing every enemy. If a GUI Editor was created, I would do it personally.
oops

Re: Hard Mode Patch / Rom Hack

Post by oops »

I saw the idea a while back by Pyriel and had assumed he had lost interest in it. I'm guessing you would have to edit multiple files just to get upgrade the health, if you were then to change other stats like def and str then it would multiply the work by quite a bit. If I knew how to do this then I would of put time into doing this as I would love to make the game harder to play and then give it another go, unfortunately I don't so I continue to play the game on easy ;)
Pyriel
Webmaster

Post by Pyriel »