Enchanted Arms *spoilers*

A forum for non-Suikoden games.
Oppenheimer
Global Admin

Enchanted Arms *spoilers*

Post by Oppenheimer »

So I had heard moderately good things about this game when it first came out ages ago and now it was reduced to $24.99CAD used at my local EB games. So I scooped it up. I couldn’t remember why it was on my "buy when cheap" list until I started playing it. It's because of Makoto! As he's one of the very very few openly gay characters in a video game. It's not even hinted, it's just out there. Well, being gay myself, I was oh so thrilled to be able to actually have myself represented in a video game. You have no idea how tiring it is having to superimpose a man's face on all the women in the straight love plots :P

Oddly when I went to buy the game, the guy at EB tried to talk me out of buying it! I've never had that happen before. He's seen me there plenty of times and knows I have good taste so I guess that's why, but still, he's there to sell the games. He said that it was overrated and he said that if I hated it and brought it back within 7 days he'd exchange it for something else like Eternal Sonata (apparently they allow exchanges due to "not liking it" for used games within a week).

So anyway, I knew I had to play a lot of it to see if I like it within a week as that's not much time for a roleplaying game. But I'm happy to say that I'm very much enjoying it so far. Although Makoto is a total stereotype I am very happy with how he is so openly gay and no one else bats an eye at it. In the world of Enchanted Arms it's not a big deal. Anyone who doesn't like Makoto does so because he's somewhat rude, not because he's gay. Even Toya doesn't seem to mind that Makoto has a huge crush on him (although he doesn't appear to reciprocate).