How well does this game handle sequence breaking?

Ask any questions about the gameplay system within the Island Nation Wars here.
bookwormbabe29

How well does this game handle sequence breaking?

Post by bookwormbabe29 »

So it's my first time playing this game, and I'm enjoying the open feel of sailing around on my boat, even if it's just from Razil to Middleport now. I was wondering though, if I decided to sail to (looks at map) a donut island, or Obel, what would happen? Does the game stop you from going so far out, or could you get high exp/cash and/or better items from visiting places you're not supposed to be in yet? The game seems (to me) to be begging you to try and sequence break, so I'm wondering if it's been tried, what works, etc. As a first time player, I'm tempted to get to other places to see if it works, but don't want to start (and especially ruin) any scripted moments. Any thoughts?
wataru14
Guide Writer

Re: How well does this game handle sequence breaking?

Post by wataru14 »

The game puts invisible walls in the sea at certain points in the game to keep you from going places you're not supposed to. You really cannot sequence break in this one.
Antimatzist

Post by Antimatzist »

It's not even invisible walls - the game just turns your ship int he other direction without any explanation.

There's imo only one scene at Obel that you can break - if you have too few characters recruited, it will skip a cutscene.
sticky-runes

Post by sticky-runes »

I don't think you can sale "any where you like" until you establish the headquarters. If it's your first time playing S4, you're better off sticking to the storyline locations. If you try to go off course, then the constant random battles will end up frustrating you.
Sasarai10
Forum Moderator

Post by Sasarai10 »

is it possible to go through those invisible walls by using some code? :?:
wataru14
Guide Writer

Post by wataru14 »