Question on cheat codes; changing skill ranks

If you are stuck in the Flame Champion War; or wish for more details on gameplay issues, ask your questions in this forum.
bookwormbabe29
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 4:55 pm

Question on cheat codes; changing skill ranks

Postby bookwormbabe29 » Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:28 pm

Hey all!

I'm toying around with cheat codes :)

I have found several FAQS/messages on the topic, and have learned how to do most things with codes. One aspect I've not seen is the skill ranks. Each of the ranks (S, A+, C, etc) should have a two digit code (for RAW format at least) but I can't find them online, and I'd rather not mess anything up. Anyone know?

User avatar
Pyriel
Webmaster
Posts: 991
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:20 pm

Re: Question on cheat codes; changing skill ranks

Postby Pyriel » Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:40 pm

As I recall, the skill ranks aren't actually stored on the character. They only serve a purpose in the training menu, so it's probably packed into the module for that somehow.

Actually, are you talking about the level they've attained, or the level they're capable of? The former is part of the character data, and there are plenty of codes available for them, e.g., here. Their talent, or whatever you want to call it, is not part of character data array.

Edit: Come to think of it, you might be asking what the allowable values are in the codes...

Skill Ranks Values from 0 (no skill) to 8 (S Rank).

Oliopro
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 2:51 am

Re: Question on cheat codes; changing skill ranks

Postby Oliopro » Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:45 am

These are the links to the herrvillain site.

Codes List Values

Pick the character you want to modify from the first link and it will have the codes for determining what skills they have in which slot and changing their value. The values for determining no rank to S rank are explained right at the bottom of the values link. As Pyriel said 0 is not rank and 8 if S rank. So replace the ?? with 08 if you want it to be and S rank.

ronnen
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:05 pm

Re: Question on cheat codes; changing skill ranks

Postby ronnen » Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:24 pm

I find setting everyone's skills to 'S' totally breaks the game.

Pick any character with continual attack, damage, swing, heavy damage, holy dash, and accuracy -- throw juan in with S level bujutsu (boosts physical damage by 10%), and nei with maddness song... your character will pretty much one shot everything. Very boring.

Working on compiling list of codes to change character's maximum possible skill rank / fixed slots / # of free slots to reduce the cheese, but still make characters like Leo and Nicolaus not completely useless due to having half the skills of any other character. And for giggles making bujutsu trainer teach all the skills...

//fred has more free slots?
patch=1,EE,01999e2c,extended,00000005

Example in pnach format:
//fred has skill apptitudes
patch=1,EE,21999ddc,extended,05060505
patch=1,EE,21999de0,extended,05050505
patch=1,EE,21999de4,extended,07050505
patch=1,EE,21999de8,extended,05050505
patch=1,EE,21999dec,extended,05050505
patch=1,EE,21999df0,extended,05050505
patch=1,EE,21999df4,extended,05050505
patch=1,EE,21999df8,extended,05050505
patch=1,EE,21999dfc,extended,05050505
patch=1,EE,21999e00,extended,05060505
patch=1,EE,21999e04,extended,00050505

//tutor and buju teach all skills (can't load state, must activate code then load a save file from mem card)
// also has some visual bugs atm
patch=1,EE,01767bcc,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767bdc,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767c10,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767c30,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767c40,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767c7c,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767cb4,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767cc0,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767cfc,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01981bb8,word,0029002a
patch=1,EE,01981bbc,byte,0000002b

Would be nice to be able to get in touch with http://www.herrvillain.com/ owner / admin and add codes there in addition to my hacking notes to his/her hacking section. But no idea how to reach him or her :D

User avatar
Pyriel
Webmaster
Posts: 991
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:20 pm

Re: Question on cheat codes; changing skill ranks

Postby Pyriel » Tue Jan 21, 2014 6:52 pm

ronnen wrote:Would be nice to be able to get in touch with http://www.herrvillain.com/ owner / admin and add codes there in addition to my hacking notes to his/her hacking section. But no idea how to reach him or her :D


That would be me. I don't know about documenting Suikoden III anymore. I kind of ran it into the ground ages ago.

ronnen
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:05 pm

Re: Question on cheat codes; changing skill ranks

Postby ronnen » Wed Jan 22, 2014 8:57 am

Ahh, well...

There are several things in that block I mentioned for the characters (and nearby like the spell and item definition tables, the drop tables for corpses and treasure bosses, etc) that I didn't see documented anywhere (especially in the context of modifying them).

I can imagine you'd already found all that stuff ages ago as well, but since it's not on your site that I can see and people had referred me to it... just a thought ^_^

User avatar
Pyriel
Webmaster
Posts: 991
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:20 pm

Re: Question on cheat codes; changing skill ranks

Postby Pyriel » Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:26 am

I can add it to the list, but I'd be more apt to make documenting 3 another aspect of the technical wiki when time permits. I posted a lot of crap on CMGSCCC back in the day, not realizing that the owner of the site likes to start over once every year or so, and he doesn't take back ups of his database. So the public instances of it are gone, unless somebody way-backed it, and I deleted most of my information at some point when I was drive-cleaning, and decided I had no interest in continuing with PS2 hacking.

ronnen
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:05 pm

Re: Question on cheat codes; changing skill ranks

Postby ronnen » Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:46 pm

Here's the character growth codes for what it is worth.

// Suikoden III - Character "Growth" codes
// Highlights are codes that control :
// when characters gain rune slots
// how their stats grow at levelup
// what their skill caps are when training skills
// what fixed skills they learn and when
// how many free skill slots they have
// What their starting level is and whether or not that level is relative to the recruiting character

// Codes are in pnach format

// Note 1: Growth Rate code values are 00 through 0b
// Growth Rate types are discussed here: http://www.suikosource.com/games/gs3/gu ... growth.php
// Note however, growth type numbers mentioned on the aforementioned page are "off by 1"
// So if the table says growth rate of "05" then the code needs to use the value "06"

// Note 2: Skill potential values are 00 through 07
// 00 - Character can not learn skill
// 01 - "Slow" Max of A+
// 03 - Max of C, 04 - Max of B, 05 - Max of B, 06 - Max of A, 07 - Max of S

// Note 3: The combined number of fixed and free slots can never exceed 8, if you set values that do, then all you accomplish is UI glitches

// Note 4: When using Relative Starting Level, the Starting Level uses signed byte values.
// So for example, setting Lucia to have relative level of +2 from recruiter:
// patch=1,EE,01999DAC,extended,00000001 //Lucia Starting Level Is Relative Indicator (0 false, 1 true)
// patch=1,EE,01999DAD,extended,00000002 //Lucia Starting Level
// But, setting Lucia to have relative level of -3 from recruiter would be:
// patch=1,EE,01999DAC,extended,00000001 //Lucia Starting Level Is Relative Indicator (0 false, 1 true)
// patch=1,EE,01999DAD,extended,000000fd //Lucia Starting Level

Codes can be found here:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1GRT ... sp=sharing

Obviously, you could use a repeater code for several of these... example give everyone 3 runes at level 1:
patch=1,EE,41999BC8,extended,004F0021
patch=1,EE,01010162,extended,00000000

But the problem with that is I don't know what that '62' does there...some values I've seen are 00, 09, 11, 62... I'm pretty sure it has to do with what type of equipment the character can use as shield users seem to all have 62, monsters have 00, leather/chain people seem to use 11, leather 09 and such...

So I just left the codes individual.

Probably going to break down the spell tables next.

User avatar
Pyriel
Webmaster
Posts: 991
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:20 pm

Re: Question on cheat codes; changing skill ranks

Postby Pyriel » Wed Jan 22, 2014 1:24 pm

Bitmask most likely. An easy way to get some initial level of confirmation would be check for a block of overlaps between the people flagged 09 and 11. They should have one set of some sort in common, if that's what's going on.

ronnen
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:05 pm

Re: Question on cheat codes; changing skill ranks

Postby ronnen » Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:05 pm

Yeah I considered that, but before when i checked at a glance 9 and 62 had no positive overlap (meaning they shared no 1's) and negative overlap tends to not be very informative.

And I know for a fact that Thomas (09) and Cecile (62) can equip similar equipment in that they can both wear the pale moon set for example. Thus, I just sort of ignored it until I had time to actually find the control functions that use that data table and break it down... which could take a while as I'm still adjusting to MIPS compared to SNES and Gen architecture... so I wanted to get an initial pass on spell and item data done first.

ronnen
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:05 pm

Re: Question on cheat codes; changing skill ranks

Postby ronnen » Mon Feb 03, 2014 5:34 pm

Update to my previous slightly buggy "all skill trainable at buju and tutor" code... Seems I missed some BEQ's and need to update skill data table to allow skills to be skilled up at both as well as learned at both... anyway...

{code}
// All skill are buju and tutor train?
patch=1,EE,419A9060,extended,002B0007
patch=1,EE,80000005,extended,00000000
//tutor and buju teach all skills (can't load state, must activate code then load a save file from mem card)
// also has some bugs
patch=1,EE,21767bc0,extended,00000000
patch=1,EE,21767c58,extended,1440ffe1
patch=1,EE,01767bcc,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767bdc,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767c10,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767c30,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767c40,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767c7c,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767cb4,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767cc0,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767cfc,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767d08,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767e58,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,01767e78,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,0176a2e8,byte,00000050
patch=1,EE,0176a304,byte,00000050
{code}

Things to note, you still have to give the characters the aptitude to learn skills... which by default means they can't learn anything they couldn't normally (i.e. no teaching Hugo the Shield Protect skill unless you also put a code in to change his Shield Protect aptitude).

But yeah, works a LOT better now... no bugs that I can find.

makotech222
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 1:30 pm

Re: Question on cheat codes; changing skill ranks

Postby makotech222 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:06 pm

Super necro. Thanks for keeping this post around on suikosource. I created a tool, just like in Suikoden 2, which allows you to edit your ISO file to adjust stat growth, skills, and rune levels. Below are links to both the source code and binaries for Win64.

Source: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1BZUcB ... kewv4zFATI (also at https://github.com/makotech222/Suikoden3Editor)
Binaries: https://drive.google.com/open?id=108ghu ... FPTbjFY-UQ

Binaries provided for win64. Must have .Net Core Runtime 3.0 installed to run.

Enjoy!

makotech222
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 1:30 pm

Re: Question on cheat codes; changing skill ranks

Postby makotech222 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 9:33 pm

Updated to allow setting fixed skills and number of free skills. Same rules as above apply.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1jnqPG ... KOJRs9jwiF


Return to “Suikoden III”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests